the twenty-fifth day

I found the most amazing five pairs of 1940s shoes in the op shop the day before yesterday. They are all from the same lady (a deceased estate that was brought in by her grandkids who had debated whether or not they’d just throw the shoes out!!), and are all a ridiculously tiny size 34, but I bought them all because they were so incredible (and couldn’t be separated!) The lovely ladies at the Save The Children shop near me had saved them for me and were so excited to show me them.

One had a sticker inside that had the date they were made (’42), the customer’s name and the address of the shoe store in Rome. I googled the name and address of the shoe store and it still exists! They’re such an amazing piece of history, in near perfect condition, obviously made for a very wealthy lady during the war. I want to know more about her, why she had so many beautiful shoes made but doesn’t really seem to have worn them much, why she came to Perth, why she kept her shoes all those years. She must have been so stylish. My dad is in Europe at the moment and is going to visit the shop and tell them that I’ve found their shoes in little old Perth, I wonder what they’ll think… Finding things like this is what makes op shopping so exciting and magical at times. It makes sifting through piles of stinky muu-muus and ugly jeans so worth it.

Anyway, today I’m wearing:

Op shop bag, shoes, belt, bodysuit and necklace, and also a homemade necklace and homemade skirt.

About anadventure

I live in sunny little Perth. I'm a stylist mostly, but I'm also a Pigeon, one third of Two Bucks 'Til Wednesday and one half of All Of The Above Creative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the twenty-fifth day

  1. Breeahn says:

    Amazing!
    Loving this blog 😉

  2. Those shoes are amazing! Wish I had teeny tiny feet

Leave a Reply

