the end, sort of.

Well, that’s all! I made it 30 days only wearing made-within-100-miles or op-shopped clothing (with a couple of shoe exceptions) and I think I did an ok job at it! It’s really not been difficult at all, I definitely would encourage you to give it a go, for a day, a week, a month, or for any time really! It’s been pretty fun coming up with a new outfit each day and putting a bit more thought into things rather than just relying on chain store staples in amongst my normal secondhand finds. Even though my usual style is to wear a lot of op shop gear, I found it quite challenging at times to wear head-to-toe, mainly just because of shoes. I love shoes more than most other sartorial items, and am pretty picky about what I do and don’t like. I have a fair few op shop shoes but due to my weird shaped feet and the fact I wear through shoes really quickly, I was pretty limited into what I could wear on a daily basis for all the running around I do.

I think now November’s over, I’ll continue to wear only op shopped/100 mile clothing as much as I can, but make an exception for shoes! I’m going to avoid chain stores and the like, and instead spend my money supporting charities and local designers.

It’s also been a creative month, I’ve done the most sewing this month since I graduated a year ago, which is lovely. I’d kind of forgotten how much I love cutting stuff up and haphazardly stitching into something different. If it’s not something you already do, I whole-heartedly recommend you get into it. It can be more fun than making something from scratch (and easier too!) and it’s so rewarding to make something pretty out of something not so pretty.

Anyway, tonight I’m off to my boyfriend’s graduate photography exhibition, Focused At Infinity, and I’m in fact sticking true to my 100 mile sartorial diet by wearing local label, One Fell Swoop. They’re an incredible pair of designers who drape silks in the most exquisite and interesting ways, and I’ve always wanted one of their dresses. I managed to grab it at a very lovely price at the FashionWA pop store on the corner of Wellington and William street, which incidentally is open until Sunday! You should certainly get yourself along to that, as the little boutique is filled to the brim with Perth’s best designers such as Little Gracie, lonely as a cloud, One Fell Swoop, Alister Yiap, Carly Hunter, Paper Skye, Poppy Lissiman and heaps more.

I might take a photo of that outfit and post it up if I don’t get home too late! So then it would be the thirty-first day. I won’t continue to post daily outfits, but if there’s something really special or an outfit I’m particularly proud of I’ll let you know.

Thank you for reading my blog. I hope it’s not been entirely boring and that you didn’t get sick of my bag-face. And I hope more people start wearing 100 mile/op shop outfits, and start sewing at home, and get a little creative, because it really is fun and rewarding and you nearly always end up with something way better and way more innovative than some on-sale dress at Myer.

About anadventure

I live in sunny little Perth. I'm a stylist mostly, but I'm also a Pigeon, one third of Two Bucks 'Til Wednesday and one half of All Of The Above Creative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the end, sort of.

Leave a Reply

